Jasmine's Feline Message Forum

Confessions of a Cat Breeder

Following Jasmine's Confessions of a Cat Breeder Following Jasmine's Confessions of a Cat Breeder Following Jasmine's Confessions of a Cat Breeder

We've acquired a great following!

Cat and Kitten Stories

Welcome to Jasmine's Feline Forum

Please feel free to air your kitty problems, ask a question,
or just write about the love you share
with your special feline friend.

Feel free to add your own comments on questions
to help out where you can.

Please note that questions and answers may become part
of our feature articles or stories.

Jasmine's Feline Message Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Help with breeder and new to the Maine coon

Hi everyone! Im new to the Maine Coon! I desparately need some major help. I am in the process of starting my own cattery. I have a girl with breeding rights. She is cycling and ready for a male soon. I was in the middle of purchasing a boy, had paid over half on him when the problem arose. The wonderful lady of whom I received my girl from wanted to see his picture and pedigree. Well basically what it boiled down to was the fact that the little guy was my girl's grandpa. Whats worse is he came from a Sire that was from a cattery with bad health lines, and the cattery was closed. The person has over half of the money on him. There are no other kittens right now. The next litter wont be ready til the end of the summer. Not only am I out all that money, I dont have a boy for my girl. This person isnt really working with me. Basically I either had to sell the original boy to get out of the contract, or I have to wait til the end of summer to get a breeder quality kitten. Then IF that doesnt happen, I was verbally told that I would get a refund. I dont know what to do. I have so many mixed feelings. For one I picked the boy because of his colors. However the so called "breeder quality" kit will not be the orginal colors I picked. The contract said that the kitten was