​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Official Website of the Foxhunters Hall of Fame

Masterfox Message
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Collar breaking ?

I am new to the alpha and shock collars i am wanting to tone break my outside dogs i have got some good info from my friends but just wondering how everyone else does it any info would be very helpful thanks

Re: Collar breaking ?

The way I do with the tri tronics. Put your dog on a 25 - 30 ft cord. Call his name , hit the tone and then pull him to you and pet him up when he gets to you. After several times call him tone him then buzz him on the low setting then pull him to you then pet him up. This process works but takes time and working with them. I suspect many good dog will be ruined due to the alpha from lack of training.

Thanks john thats about the same way all my buddys have told me to do it . I dont wont to ruin any of my hounds thats way i am asking for advice

I agree with John, but to save you some time, set your collar on 6 or 7. It's just enough to get his attention. I test my collars on myself at 6, it's more of a surprise, than painful shock. This has worked well for me, although some dogs are more hard headed than others and you may have to adjust. The alfa is an awesome piece of equipment, but the best advice I could give anyone is be patient. Good luck.