​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

Official Website of the Foxhunters Hall of Fame

Masterfox Message
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Need Help with Question about Alph tracking machine

Yall I am new to this great technology!! Just got the Alpha 100 and 3 tt15 collars! So far I'm not sure about it, but the training part is great. The tracking part well for the money I paid ain't to good for me in my eyes. I bought the long 48 inch black folding long range antenna!!Before I called Garmin to learn how to update the collars and even if I needed to I would only be able to track my hounds about 280 yards before I would loose them!!! after I updated my collars I did I did a truck test where I turned collars on and put them in plain open view to the sky on my close line and drove off !! I went about .995 of a mile before I loss communication, as I turned around and drove back twords them I had to get within 345 yards before they picked up again. then I drove in the opposite direction and went .87 of a mile before I loss turned around again and had to get within 400 yards before I picked them up!! after I updated everything was about the same of point where I loss communication I just picked the collars back up about 715 yards away. The lay of the land is flat land Sugar cane fields!! guess what my question is , is this normal??? thanks for any input!!! God Bless and happy hunting/Running

Re: Need Help with Question about Alph tracking machine

If you want range you need to get a roof mount antenna. Don't get the Garmin one. Get one of the longer whip style antenna. If you want more range you can get extended range antennas for your collars that are a few inches longer than the stock version. I have gotten pings on my collars at 9 miles under perfect conditions when I was testing. About 4.5 to 5 miles is the best you can hope for in real hunting conditions. I only have tt10 collars but the tt15 should be about the same.