Support for People With Mental Illnesses

none

Support for People With Mental Illnesses
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Why am I so insecure?

Hiya, Im a newbie here.

My gf and I had another fight last night. I always think that she's running off with other people behind my back. Its ridiculous. I know its ridiculous and it really annoys all of our friends, my gf and is really upsetting to myself.

The thing is Im incredibly insecure and it just doesn't stop. I was having therapy for a while, but its expensive and I couldn't keep it up.

Some history of mine.. Iv been diagnosed with ADD and BPD. Im not on any medication. Im gay, Iv been with my gf for 4 years and I still don't really believe she loves me. Im finding it really hard to get a job as I get so nervous doing interviews Im starting to avoid them, and I drink way too much when I go out.

Noone knows that Im insecure. Everyone thinks Im really confident and a social butterfly. I just wish I really could be the confident person I project. Its hard for me to get close to people as the better they know me the more they realise how screwed up I am.

Anyone out there understand what Im going thru???

Re: Why am I so insecure?

Hi Intimissii,

Thanks for having the courage to share your life and feelings.
I've recently come to realise that I have been going through life with major self-esteem/self confidence problems.
Reading your post I thought some of these issues might apply to your situation.
Firstly, here's a great page about the many aspects of self esteem etc:
http://www.nathanielbranden.com/ess/ess12.html
This isn't bad either: http://buddhism.kalachakranet.org/self-confidence.html
(don't forget wikipedia too.)
I think most people are screwed up in some ways - we're all secretly insecure, it's not just you!