Jasmine's Feline Message Forum

Confessions of a Cat Breeder

Following Jasmine's Confessions of a Cat Breeder Following Jasmine's Confessions of a Cat Breeder Following Jasmine's Confessions of a Cat Breeder

We've acquired a great following!

Cat and Kitten Stories

Welcome to Jasmine's Feline Forum

Please feel free to air your kitty problems, ask a question,
or just write about the love you share
with your special feline friend.

Feel free to add your own comments on questions
to help out where you can.

Please note that questions and answers may become part
of our feature articles or stories.

Jasmine's Feline Message Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
mother cat not interested in her babies

Hi,,

I am a newbie breeder and have had a mothercat that is just not interested enough in her babies. She had 6 beautiful babies but she just wouldn't lay down for them to nurse. I have to make her lay down myself. She does not mind them nursing, but she has no affection at all.. Instead of licking her babies, she puts her affection towards me by licking my hand as I hold her down for the babies to nurse. Her nipples are not erect very much which I think is making it difficult for the babies to nurse.. She was like that for two day until she started licking her babies a bit and only when I put the baby right infront of her.. Unfortunately, the babies did not make it :( it was very difficult for me ..
So I was wondering.. Is this normal for a first time momma cat? Do you think it would be wise to give her a second chance in motherhood??
She is 20 months old ...

Re: mother cat not interested in her babies

Dear Blaze,